Four individuals will be honored for achieving Fellowship status in the Academy of Osseointegration (AO) during the Opening Symposium at its 2019 Annual Meeting. The new Fellows will include:

Les Kalman, BSc, DDS from Komoka, ON, Canada, assistant professor, Restorative Dentistry, and faculty lead, Dental Outreach and Community Service with the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at the University of Western Ontario. A member of the Academy since 2006, Dr. Kalman has served on AO’s Clinical Innovations and Research Submissions committees, and is currently on the E-poster Committee. He has conducted 23 invited presentations, including twice as an e-poster presenter at AO Annual Meetings. Dr Kalman has been published in nearly 40 articles.

Edward Karateew, DDS, BSc, is a clinical associate professor and post graduate director of Advanced Specialty Education in the Department of Periodontology at University of Illinois at Chicago, as well as in private clinical practice in Chicago. Prior to relocating to his new academic life in Chicago, Dr. Karateew maintained a private practice in Vancouver, BC, Canada for 20 years. An AO member since 2006, Dr. Karateew has served on the Osseointegration Foundation’s Charitable Grants Committee for five years, including as chair for three. He is a current member of AO’s Finance and Audit Committee and participated in AO’s 2018 Summit. Dr. Karateew is widely published and recently completed his textbook on the Aesthetic Dental Implant and made 140 major presentations.

Todd Schoenbaum, DDS, is associate clinical professor for the division of Constitutive and Regenerative Sciences, and director of Continuing Dental Education at the UCLA School of Dentistry, as well as in clinical practice in Brentwood, CA. An AO member since 2012, he is currently a member of AO’s Fellowship & Certificate in Implant Dentistry Accreditation Committee, has served on the Research Submission Committee, and is a co-founder of the AO UCLA student chapter. Dr. Schoenbaum has been published 51 times in peer reviewed journals, textbooks, and clinical case reports, and serves as a reviewer for the International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Implants (JOMI). He has presented at nearly 150 invited lectures and seminars, including AO’s 2016 Annual Meeting.

Daniel Taub, DDS, MD, is associate professor at the Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA, where he is also vice chair and program director of the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. An AO member since 2007, Dr. Taub has served on five AO committees, including currently as chair of the Website Education Committee. Over the past 10 years, he has given more than 20 invited lectures, including as a plenary speaker and e-poster presenter at AO Annual Meetings, and the AO Study Club at University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine. Dr. Taub has published 13 original peer reviewed publications including JOMI, several abstracts and chapters. In addition, he volunteers with Operation Smile and has participated in over twenty international surgical missions.

Fellowship in the Academy is obtained by demonstrating a commitment to the field of osseointegration. Reflecting the importance of science and service embodied in its founding principles, AO established a Fellow membership category to honor those members who have excelled in both academics as well as service to the Academy. Criteria has been established to offer a careful balance of requirements that will ensure it is attainable by all members.

“While not a form of credentialing, attaining Fellowship in AO says more about our members than mere case presentations or examination of knowledge,” said Lambert J. Stumpel, DDS, Chair of AO’s Fellowship & Certificate in Implant Dentistry Accreditation Committee. “It sets the standard for those who take their continuing professional education seriously, have a strong commitment to the field of implant dentistry, and recognize the incredible value that volunteerism and philanthropy have to the profession.”

AO’s 2019 Annual Meeting, “Current Factors in Clinical Excellence,” will be held March 13 – March 16, 2019 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in downtown Washington, DC. Register by February 11 to secure the Advance Registration discount and the best hotel rates with AO’s special room block. This website contains complete details about the program, speakers, events and registration and all information can be accessed through the top menu bar.

Leave a comment