AO 2019 Annual Meeting

Twenty-five dental students from around the world will have the opportunity to present their research at the global nexus for implant dentistry – the Academy of Osseointegration’s (AO) 2019 Annual Meeting — as a result of Student Travel Grants awarded by the Osseointegration Foundation (OF).

Initiated in 2017 to help provide students with financial assistance to advance both clinical application and basic scientific research in the science of osseointegration, the OF, the philanthropic arm of AO, increased the number of grants awarded to 25 this year with additional support received from Anker Dental Systems.

Livia Lamunier de Abreu Camargo
Guarulhos University, Brazil

Chia-Yu Chen
Harvard University

Yu-Ting Yeh
Indiana University

Marco Toia
Malmo University, Sweden

Burcu Batak
Ohio State University

Ericka Miller
Texas A&M

Grant Nishimura

Edemar Junior Fronchetti
Uninga, Brazil

Jose Maria Araujo Gonzalez

Héctor Robles
Silvia Kristel Solís Hernández
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Givelton Coimbra da Luz
Universidade de Guarulhos, Brazil

Laura Koo Min Chee
University of Illinois at Chicago

Firas Al Yafi
University of Kentucky

Andrea Ravidà
University of Michigan

Farahnaz Fahimipour
Lauren Katz
University of North Carolina

Niloufar Khosravi
University of Toronto

Katherine L Roll
University of Washington

Diana Sedler
Jasveen Wadia

Edmondson Kelsey
Laura Nelson Rabe
UT Houston

Colin McCain
Virginia Commonwealth University

Dandan Wang
Zhejiang University, China

The winning students were selected for a travel grant after receiving the top scores of student-submitted oral research and e-poster abstracts for the Annual Meeting (to be held March 13 – 16, 2019 in Washington, DC) as reviewed by members of the AO Research Submissions and E-Poster committee. The list of recipients includes:

“This is a wonderful year as the Osseointegration Foundation has increased the number of recipients of its Student Travel Grants by 20 percent,” said Robert R. Lemke, chair of the AO Research Submission Committee and member of the AO & OF Research Grant Committee. “While students feel it is a great honor to be selected, it is even a greater honor for the Osseointegration Foundation and one of its sponsors, Anker Dental Implants, to have these students present at AO’s Annual Meeting.”

Of the previous 20 Student Travel Grant recipients (for AO’s 2018 Annual Meeting), three have had their research accepted for publication. Three other students are in the process of writing their papers.  In addition, Dr. Sara El Husseini Ahmed from Egypt, who is also finalizing her paper for publication, feels AO “is one of the most educational meetings that really addresses hot topics in academic manner more than any other meeting.”

OF’s Student Travel Grants allow students to come to AO’s Annual Meeting to present their research, which also gives them an opportunity to meet world renowned doctors in implant dentistry. One of last year’s recipients, Dr. Ghada Alrabeah from London, England, stated the greatest honor was to meet and have the opportunity to speak with Prof. Tomas Albrektsson University of Gothenburg. In addition, Dr. Wataru Kozuma from Japan enjoyed the Annual Meeting as an opportunity to talk with people from around the world.

“We are happy that many of these students were able to gain in so many ways by receiving these grants. This is a very positive step in demonstrating the value of the grants by not only increasing attendance of young researchers and clinicians but of their increased role as leaders,” Dr. Lemke concluded.

Leave a comment